Tamworth Borough Council 2021 Local Election results confirmed

The Conservative Party gained five new seats in Tamworth as residents went to the polls on Thursday, May 6, to choose their preferred candidates in the 2021 Local Elections.

A total of 10 of the 30 seats were up for grabs this year – one for each of Tamworth’s 10 electoral wards. As well as holding their five seats being contested in Amington, Belgrave, Castle, Spital and Trinity, the Conservative Party also gained seats in Bolehall, Glascote, Mercian, Stonydelph and Wilnecote.

A number of new councillors have now been welcomed to the council, alongside the return of those who successfully defended their seats. This means Tamworth Borough Council is now made up as follows:

  • Conservative Party: 26 councillors
  • Labour Party: 3 councillors
  • UKIP: 1 councillor

The overall turnout in Tamworth this year was 31%.

The Conservative Party also held all six seats for the Tamworth divisions of the Staffordshire County Council vote.

Conservative Party candidate Ben Adams was elected to the role of Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner for Staffordshire.

A full breakdown of all the results is available here.

Amington Ward - Conservative hold
Wayne Hughes, UKIP, 80 votes
Lewis Smith, Labour & Co-operative Party, 582 votes
Martin Summers, Conservative Party, 1161 votes ELECTED
Andrew Tilley, Green Party, 100 votes
Turnout: 30.4%

Belgrave Ward - Conservative hold
Robert Bayley, Labour & Co-operative Party, 504 votes
Richard Ford, Conservative Party, 925 votes ELECTED
Emma Turner, UKIP, 91 votes
Turnout: 21.4%

Bolehall Ward - Conservative gain
John Harper, Conservative Party, 1016 votes ELECTED
Jan Wadrup, Labour & Co-operative Party, 623 votes
Tracey Williams, UKIP, 90 votes
Turnout: 30.8%

Castle Ward - Conservative hold
Peter Clayton, UKIP, 86 votes
Kevin Jones, Green Party, 166 votes
Peter Thurgood, Conservative Party, 1104 votes ELECTED
Lee Wood, Labour & Co-operative Party, 577 votes
Turnout: 32.8%

Glascote Ward - Conservative gain
Chris Cooke, Independent, 172 votes
Sarah Daniels, Labour Party, 344 votes
Mark Hopkins, UKIP, 86 votes
James Platt, Green Party, 99 votes
John Wade, Conservative Party, 667 votes ELECTED
Turnout: 25%

Mercian Ward
Conservative gain
Andrew Cooper, Conservative Party, 764 votes ELECTED
Richard Kingstone, Independent, 760 votes
Gary Martin, UKIP, 43 votes
Gordon Moore, Labour & Co-operative Party, 386 votes
Turnout: 35.6%

Spital Ward - Conservative hold
David Foster, Labour Party, 564 votes
Huw Loxton, Independent, 391 votes
Lisa Morris, UKIP, 47 votes
Robert Pritchard, Conservative Party, 1241 votes ELECTED
Turnout: 37%

Stonydelph Ward - Conservative gain
Robert Bilcliff, UKIP, 133 votes
Ben Clarke, Labour & Co-operative Party, 475 votes
Jason Jones, Conservative Party, 919 votes ELECTED
Turnout: 27.2%

Trinity Ward - Conservative hold
Denise Bayley, Labour Party, 514 votes
Daniel Cook, Conservative Party, 1453 ELECTED
Philip Young, UKIP, 86 votes
Turnout: 36%

Wilnecote Ward - Conservative gain
Gail Bilcliff, UKIP, 74 votes
Daniel Maycock, Conservative Party, 1181 votes ELECTED
Gareth Roberts, Independent, 141 votes
Patrick Standen, Labour & Co-operative Party, 699
Turnout: 30.2%